ILS Office

Director

Executive Law section 832 (2010) created the Office of Indigent Legal Services and specified its duties. A Director was to be nominated by the newly-appointed ILS Board, and the nomination sent to the Governor for approval or disapproval. Once approved, the Director "shall appoint employees and perform such other functions as are appropriate to ensure the efficient operation of the office within the amounts available therefor by appropriation."

Staff

The ILS Office is currently composed of the following people:

Patricia Warth, Director
Office: (518) 486-5337
Cell: (518) 603-0851
Patricia.Warth@ils.ny.gov

 

Burton Phillips, Counsel
Office: (518) 486-5747
Cell: (518) 918-9107
Burton.Phillips@ils.ny.gov

 


Jennifer Aguila, Statewide Implementation Paralegal
Office: (518) 486-4034
Cell: (518) 729-6558
Jennifer.Aguila@ils.ny.gov

 

Matthew Alpern, Interim Chief Statewide Implementation Attorney, Director of Quality Enhancement for Criminal Defense Trials
Office: (518) 473-5109
Cell: (518) 491-4247
Matthew.Alpern@ils.ny.gov

 

Peter W. Avery, Manager of Information Systems
Office: (518) 486-6681
Cell: (518) 469-1594
Peter.Avery@ils.ny.gov

 

Christine Becker, Administrative Officer
Office: (518) 486-9168
Cell:  (518) 935-7330
Christine.Becker@ils.ny.gov

 

Jami Blair, Assistant Counsel
Office: (518) 486-5457
Cell: (518) 935-7284
Jami.Blair@ils.ny.gov

 

Jessica Bogran, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Paralegal
Office: (518) 486-3220
Cell: (518) 935-7868
Jessica.Bogran@ils.ny.gov

 

Marian Bush, Auditor
Office: (518) 486-9034
Cell: (518) 801-4141
Marian.Bush@ils.ny.gov

 

Patricia Cadrette, Assistant Grants Manager 2
Office: (518) 486-2725
Cell: (518) 903-1027
Patricia.Cadrette@ils.ny.gov

 

Jennifer Chenu, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney for Caseload Standards
Office: (518) 402-3668
Cell: (518) 728-2709
Jennifer.Chenu@ils.ny.gov

 

Luchele Chisunka, Statewide Implementation Analyst
Office: (518) 486-7327
Cell: (518) 801-4140
Luchele.Chisunka@ils.ny.gov

 

Nora Christenson, Chief Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney
Office: (518) 486-9050
Cell: (518) 390-7439
Nora.Christenson@ils.ny.gov

 

Alyssa Clark, Hurrell-Harring Senior Research Associate
Office: (518) 486-7441
Cell: (518) 414-2542
Alyssa.Clark@ils.ny.gov

 

Allison Clifford, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney - Quality Enhancement
Office: (518) 486-9947
Cell:  (518) 691-4953
Allison.Clifford@ils.ny.gov

 

Lisa Coleman, Assistant Grants Manager 1
Office: (518) 486-5420
Cell: (518) 801-3602
Lisa.Coleman@ils.ny.gov

 

Jennifer Colvin, Manager of Grant Solicitation and Distribution
Office: (518) 486-9713
Cell: (518) 491-8548
Jennifer.Colvin@ils.ny.gov

 

Liah Darlington, Administrative Assistant
Office: (518) 486-2028
Cell: (518) 691-7518
Liah.Darlington@ils.ny.gov

 

Kelly Egan, Appellate Attorney
Office: (518) 486-5602 
Cell: (518) 948-7369
Kelly.Egan@ils.ny.gov

 

Cynthia Feathers, Director of Quality Enhancement for Appellate and Post-Conviction Representation
Office: (518) 473-2383
Cell: (518) 949-6131
Cynthia.Feathers@ils.ny.gov

 

Mandy Jaramillo, Senior Appellate Attorney
Office: (518) 474-4366
Cell: (518) 521-9344
Mandy.Jaramillo@ils.ny.gov

 

Brendan Keller, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Attorney for Counsel at First Appearance
Office: (518) 486-1197
Cell: (518) 728-4958
Brendan.Keller@ils.ny.gov

 

Claire Knittel, Statewide Implementation Attorney - Quality Improvement
Office: (518) 486-1477
Cell: (518) 573-0077
Claire.Knittel@ils.ny.gov

 

Karlijn Kuijpers, Statewide Senior Research Associate
Office: (518) 486-7408
Cell: (518) 694-1361
Karlijn.Kuijpers@ils.ny.gov

 

Melissa Mackey, Director of Research
Office: (518) 486-3068
Cell: (518) 545-6318
Melissa.Mackey@ils.ny.gov

 

Lucy McCarthy, Director of Quality Enhancement, Parent Representation
Office: (518) 486-4042
Cell: (518) 935-7587
Lucy.McCarthy@ils.ny.gov

 

Kathryn Murray, Statewide Implementation Attorney - NYC
Office: (518) 486-9024
Cell: (518) 573-0462
Kathryn.Murray@ils.ny.gov

 

Petros Papanicolaou, Assistant Grants Manager 1
Office: (518) 486-1549
Cell: (518) 801-5615
Petros.Papanicolaou@ils.ny.gov

 

Madeline Rasmussen, Statewide Implementation Attorney - Caseload Standards
Office: (518) 486-5949
Cell: (518) 691-7042
Madeline.Rasmussen@ils.ny.gov

 

Lisa Joy Robertson, Hurrell-Harring Eligibility Standards Implementation Attorney
Office: (518) 486-5667
Cell: (518) 390-7561
Lisa.Robertson@ils.ny.gov

 

Tammy Smith, Assistant Grants Manager 1
Office: (518) 486-6401
Cell: (838) 934-0309
Tammy.Smith@ils.ny.gov

 

Ummey Tabassum, Hurrell-Harring Implementation Research Specialist
Office: (518) 486-6150
Cell: (518) 898-7069
Ummey.Tabassum@ils.ny.gov

 

Cie-Nicholas Watson, Data Scientist
Office: (518) 486-5715
Cell: (518) 380-0643
Cie-Nicholas.Watson@ils.ny.gov

 

Reilly Weinstein, Data Outreach Officer
Office: (518) 486-2740
Cell: (518) 380-1603
Reilly.Weinstein@ils.ny.gov

 

Claire Zartarian, Statewide Implementation Attorney for Counsel at First Appearance
Office: (518) 486-7407
Cell: (518) 937-5844
Claire.Zartarian@ils.ny.gov